Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I write this script? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

penguin1

IS-IT--Management
Mar 5, 2001
US
Code:
I need to write a script for our HP-UX server that allows an end-user to do the following:

[b]1. Login using FTP [/b][i](without having to type the login and password -- I'd like this built into the script, if possible). [b]NOTE:  End-user will be starting out at an MS-DOS session within Windows 98[/b][/i]
[b]2. Be prompted for a date to search for
3. Have the script search a directory for a file that has that date in the format of YEAR/MONTH/DAY
4. Then GET that file from the directory
5. Log the end-user out (QUIT)[/b]

I'm new to UNIX, so I'm having trouble figuring out how to "hide" the login stuff and prompt the user (as well as search for the file and GET it).  Please let me know if you can help.  Thanks!

You're about SOL. There are some products for Windows that allow scripting, however, the best way would be for the user to use the UNIX side to transfer the files. Since the user is using Windows 98, there is no FTP server, so the best out is using FTP Explorer or WSFTP pro or another WIN tool and the user will just have to login. That's what security is for.

Just install samba.
You can download it, Its free and it works.
Your HP box will be seen as an NT server on the net.
You can share printers and give permisions etc...

Gregor.Weertman@mailcity.com

I think you need to write your script on the Win98 side. I have passed the options for ftp. In your script when you ftp you can pass a file that has the user id and password. This isn't the most secure way to do things, but it will get around the end user doing the typing.