Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I setup a new Access database from a template using VB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarcMellor

Programmer
Jan 12, 2002
US
I have a database table set up in Access as a Template, named "MyResults". It contains about 20 fields and 360 rows with empty records. When a new user registers, I want to be able to make a copy of this template and name it UserCode & "Results" so that when they log on the Data1 control will be able to make a connection to this database to deposite results in it.
Any ideas?
I am an absolute amateur in VB so please keep it simple and complete!!

If you proceed as you have planned you will end up with a huge database that contains almost nothing. A couple of tips; try not to create multiple tables that store the same information, don't create recored unless there is information to place into the records.

This is what I would do.
1. Create two tables in Access (users and results).
2. Foriegn key in results relates to primary key in Users (field: UserID)
3. Use a query to extract only the data for the logged in user.
4. Use that query as the data source for your control.

The data1 control will allow the addition of new records. so you don't have to have any predetermined number of rows.

Keeping the information in one table will slow down the query a bit, but the users won't notice the difference for a while.