Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I make a report from a query, view or cursor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

grazbukanoff

Programmer
Apr 25, 2002
ES
Hello,

I am very new to FoxPro and programming in general. I am making a school database and I have created a query called MARKS, which contains fields from different tables.

I would like to know how I can create a report from this query. The manual says soemthing about cursors and views. I have managed to make output the query data as a cursor. How can i use this cursor to make a report from the query?

Here is a sample of what you want to do

SELECT Sinancil.timepoint, Sinancil.testname, Sinancil.testresult,;
Sinancil.convert, Sinancil.visitnumbe,Sinancil.method,Sinancil.cost,;
Sinvisit.name, Sinvisit.tdate, Sinvisit.patient,Sinvisit.studynumb,Sinvisit.instructio2;
FROM sinancil LEFT OUTER JOIN sinvisit ;
ON Sinancil.visitnumbe = Sinvisit.visitnumbe;
INTO CURSOR UNO;
WHERE Sinancil.visitnumbe = ?cParametroDeVista;
ORDER BY Sinancil.patient, Sinancil.testname, Sinancil.timepoint
REPORT FORM nTESTS NOCONSOLE TO PRINTER PROMPT

ADJOE,
I'm not sure that your example explain how to make a report from a cursor. I think it show how to use a report with a cursor, but I think the report (unless it already exists), still needs to be designed.

Hi grazbukanoff,

Cursor is Temporary Table from query. When you close the cursor table, VFP delete it. When query finish, the cursor is available to View, Browse, Report it, etc.

This is a simple example:

SELECT *;
FROM Tickets;
WHERE Tickets.asigned LIKE "%TEST%";
INTO CURSOR Asign
select asign
REPORT FORM <reportname> NOCONSOLE TO PRINTER PROMPT