Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

how do i insert a background image in dreamweaver and continue working

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guest_imported

Jan 1, 1970
Hi, i am sorry for this silly message but could anyone help me out and tell me step by step how i have to insert a background image in Dreamweaver and then i want to continue creating my site by putting pictures and text on top of the background, i tried to do it with the "insert table" option but it just lets me create a background image and then i can't continue by simply drawing layout tables and layout cells, please i am new to this program and i need some kind of help ....thanX in advance.

Hi Sub-Zero,

I too am new to Dreamweaver, between Dreamweaver and I Explorer I've got a pretty large head ache. It seem sthat everything appears just dandy when I preview it in Netscape, but when I try to vew my hard work in IE 5 none of the image links show up! Go figure...

Anyway, to answer your question, I have found it necessary to have to go in the code and "tweek" it some to get exactly what I want. I had to do this to place a particular image as as a background in a table and then place a clear.gif on top in a table cell. Inside the table tag, this is how my code appears:

<table width=&quot;100%&quot; border=&quot;0&quot; cellpadding=&quot;0&quot; cellspacing=&quot;0&quot; background=&quot;elements/art/montage.jpg&quot;>

Also you have to makesure your table is &quot;fixed&quot; unless you want the image to repeat. Hope this helps...

Back to my headache...

Kampher