Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I...format USB ext. 60g H/D with fat32

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shrum

Programmer
May 17, 2002
US
I have a 60 gig laptop drive in a external USB enclosure that I want to use was a storage drive for ghost images and such.

I'm booting with a Win98 DOS boot disk.

My mobo sees the USB drive at powerup, and FDISK seems to work (I destroyed the NTFS partition on the drive and created the new partition) but I've found that when I attempt to FORMAT the drive, the process starts and then quickly stops and sits at 0% forever (I'm thinking that FORMAT + USB H/W controller aren't playing nice-nice but then again this is my first attempt).

Is there a way to format the USB H/D with Fat32 from DOS?

BTW: Mobo is Asus A8V Deluxe.

TIA

=============================
Sean Shrum
Shrum Consulting
C.A.T.S.: Consulting: Programming: R/C Soaring:

While working with fdisk you are already in dos.
I have had this problem of a hangup in fdisk just as you
described.
First, make sure the hard drive is set at master.
Second, get the diagnostic program from the hard drive mfgrs website and start it up. Inside the program you will find a "write zeros to hard drive" command, something very close to that. Go ahead and click on that. It will take a while to do this job.
After that try again to format fat32 from fdisk.