Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I Dail-up on Solaris7??? 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomii

Technical User
Mar 12, 2001
GB
Hello All,

I'm have trouble understanding how a Modem can be connect to my SunSolaris7 for dail-up access to the internet.

Can anyone please give me a kick-start as I'm pretty new to Solaris and have no idea where to start.!

Thanks in advance.
Regards,
tommy

try they've got some good scripts

worked easily for one of our guys for home use ... they have some good solaris tools there.

Hey...good site, thanks!!
Just one thing, do you if theres any restriction on what
type of Modem i can use. I'm i right in thinking that
any standard external PC modem ie..56K, V90, etc..would do??
What about the drivers? do i need them for solaris cos all
drivers which come with the modem are for PC right?

Many thanks!
tommy

external modems are great, they usually talk a standard set of instructions ... but do go for one that can do the standard set ...

i've never had much luck/love of internal modems, even under windows, and i can't see if they're doing things right :)

look in /etc/uucp/Dialers (i think) and you should find a modem type that is compatible with externals :)

Hi,