Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I create a text file to meet specifications in MS Access? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

LedouxMJ

Programmer
Sep 10, 2002
US
I'm building a database to bill for NYS Medicaid. The user's will be able to enter all billable visits into this system and the end result will be to write a text file to a floppy. Medicaid has provided specifications for this text file. My questions is has anyone done anything like this? I have never done this before and I'm not sure where to start.

do you mean you need access to output a text file with a specific format ?
You can use the OPEN INPUT to write data from a DB to a file.
you should post the specs so we have an idea of how it can be done

is your file a flat text file or does it have a header and then records and a trailer at the bottom? Where are you storing the data that you want to write to the file? In a table, or do you determine the data with a query? is it comprised of some text boxes on a form?

Outputting data to text files is fairly straightforward, but I have had good results with different methods depending on where/how I'm compiling the data for the file.
-Dan

Exporting the text file is pretty straight forward. The "tricky" part comes in if they require zero-filled fields for unused numerics, space-filled fields for unused text fields, heading/trailing characters, etc. I just went through that nightmare and got lots of help on this site so if that's where you're having the problem let us know. Ann

I have figured out how to do one record type but I can't get more than one to work at the same time.

The file has a header and then records and a trailer at the bottom.