Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I connect to a SQL server back end? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 8, 2002
US
Hello everyone,

I am very new to SQL server, so please bear with me...

I have a SQL Server database that I'm trying to build an Access front end around. There are 2 SQL tables that I need to access with 1 form.

I understand that I can link to these tables by going (in access):

File>Get External Data>Link Tables. Then choosing ODBC from the "type" dropdown box. I'm confused as to what to put in the "DSN Name" box. I click on "New" and begin to follow the wizzard, but I get hung up on the "Type the name of the file data source you want to save this connection to" prompt. BTW, the SQL database is on a server.

Once I create this connection, can I link to multiple tables? If so, can I create queries in Access to join the 2 tables? If I link this query to a form, do any changes I make to the data on the form get mapped back to the "actual" tables on the SQL server database?

Thank you VERY much for any help with this!

-Andrew

Andrew,
The question "Type the name of the file data source you want to save this connection to", is asking you to give a name to a file that will contain a "File Type" DSN.

Unless you are wanting to share this DSN among different users, it would probably be better to use a "System" DSN instead of a "File" DSN.