Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

how do i call a field of a form on the current page, within ASP code? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

debrac

IS-IT--Management
Jan 9, 2001
AU
how do i call a field of a form on the current page, within ASP code?
eg.
<% sqlstring = &quot;SELECT DISTINCT interest FROM main WHERE (interest Is Not Null AND type = &quot; & [field on form] & &quot;) ORDER BY main.interest;&quot;

thanks.

I've done a something similiar by setting the SQL text to a DTC recordset by a value passed by a form. But I am really not sure about the code for your sqlstring because I am really new to sql. I do know however that you can get the value of a field on a form on a previous page by doing the following.

formfieldvar = Request(&quot;frmfield&quot;)

'frmfield being the field on the form on the previous page

On the previous page containing the form you would need to do:

thisform.action = &quot;Second.asp&quot;
thisform.submit

I hope this helps you at least a little.

tammym

Give the field an ID (use ID attribute) then you can refer to it any where on the page - IDNAME.text.

thanks both of you. helpful.
but still having trouble accessing value of select box.

Do you mean a list box? Can you give a little more info about your situation?

tbmishue

i want to resubmit a page, and calculate a value of a second list box - filled with data from database, based on the value selected in the first list box.
thanks

Sounds like your are trying do so something similiar to what I have here?

Sub CatRecordset_onbeforeopen()

cHoldcat = Request(&quot;Catlstbx&quot;)

'Catlstbx is the listbox on ASP1.asp