Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How can I tell if my cisco router is bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wlanman

IS-IT--Management
Dec 25, 2002
US
So I am new to this cisco stuff, and i am trying to get my CCNA, so i buy a 2501 on Ebay, set up my hyper-terminal, (9600,8, none, 2, hardware), got my x-over cable plugged in properly to serial port 1, everything checks out, but when it gets to this screen I press enter nothing happens.

Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
IOS (tm) 3000 Software (IGS-IN-L), Version 11.1(9), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Copyright (c) 1986-1997 by cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Mon 27-Jan-97 14:39 by dschwart
Image text-base: 0x0302378C, data-base: 0x00001000

cisco 2500 (68030) processor (revision D) with 4096K/2048K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID 01996563, with hardware revision 00000000
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 2.0, NET2, BFE and GOSIP compliant.
1 Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface.
2 Serial network interfaces.
32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
8192K bytes of processor board System flash (Read ONLY)

Press RETURN to get started!Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
IOS (tm) 3000 Software (IGS-IN-L), Version 11.1(9), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Copyright (c) 1986-1997 by cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Mon 27-Jan-97 14:39 by dschwart
Image text-base: 0x0302378C, data-base: 0x00001000

cisco 2500 (68030) processor (revision D) with 4096K/2048K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID 01996563, with hardware revision 00000000
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 2.0, NET2, BFE and GOSIP compliant.
1 Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface.
2 Serial network interfaces.
32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.