Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How can I get more than 16 color?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jascra

Programmer
Jul 9, 2002
I have an old Dell server which ran NT. I am not that technical, and the hard drive did not work anymore, but when I reformatted it, it did...I did not have any NT software, but bought an old OEM (Never opened) windows 98, figuring that I can just install it on the machine(PIII, 450 MHZ). I was able to install the windows 98 OS on the DELL, but I can not get more than 16 color depth on the machine. It says it has a VGA display, and I really remember having more than 16 colors when I had NT installed. Is there anyone out there that can help me?

THanks

Hi
Win98 has not recognised your vid card. Find out what it is and install its drivers.

Thanks for the advice. How do I find out what my vid card is? Is there something in diagnostics to tell me this. It says the display driver installed is vga.drv, and the display adapter is Standard Video Display(VGA).

Hi
Run Add Hardware first (control Panel > Add Hardware) to see if OS recognises the card, if not, then you need to find out some details about the card.
- If you have any documentation about the pc, it might have the vid card details in it.
- Failing that then you need to open the pc and have a look at the card to identify the manufacturer and the chip model. If there is no label/sticker on the PCB then let us know the name and numbers on the biggest chip on the vid card.
Good luck

Actually its easier than that. ITs a dell computer. Go to Dell.com and then Support and type in the model number off the back of the computer. Choose your operating system and download the display driver.

Hi