Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How can I configure a Cisco 2501 Router for "Home ADSL"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

darren77uk

IS-IT--Management
Apr 23, 2001
CA
I am getting a static IP address, and want to configure my 2501 Cisco router, have no previous experiance, so I am a complete novice.

Could someone please guide me through on how to configure it if possible!?

I was told I need two by someone, is there any way around this?! One AUX port, One AUI, 2 Serial Ports and a Console port.

Help!??!

Cheers.
Darren

You only have 1 Ether port and you need 2 to make it work - 1 for your home network (LAN) and one for your Internet connection (WAN).

Right, so what is best, I have a Alcatel ADSL MODEM, but has a USB connection, is there anyway I can utilise my 2501 router?!

You need two routers due to the ethernet inface situation previously mentioned...

The 2501 only provides you with one ethernet interface, period.

Unless you're up to a fancy configuration involving the 'AUX' port, you will need another router and a cable.

With only one cisco 2501 router, you can use your 'AUX' port as an additional interface for passing traffic.
Though you may get this setup to work, it is not recommended because the throughput on the 'AUX' port is too low.

It's a rather unconventional setup but it's possible.

And it beats a blank? Well, perhaps...

What type of cable do you need to connect the two routers?

It depends on the type of other equipment you have.

Most likely you'll be connecting the second router with a db60 to db60 WAN simulator cable.

have an appropriate amount of fun...