Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hot swap drive bays - how do they work? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

G0AOZ

Technical User
Nov 6, 2002
GB
Other than fitting a couple of these drive bays into a small server, I've no experience of them.

Purely out of interest, in simple terms how does the technology work? I assume there must be some sort of buffer to eliminate the problems that one associates with connecting and disconnecting a hard disk drive from a running system, both for data lines and power rails. Apart from physically keeping the drive in place, I suspect the lock mechanism actuates a switch or switching ciruit. What is it switching? Power and/or data lines?

ROGER - G0AOZ.

My only experience has been with hot-swap drives in IBM and Compaq servers - but my guess that the hot-swap functionality is built into the RAID-1 and RAID-5 and RAID-10 controllers they are used with - since they are designed to deal gracefully with a drive failure. If you had a non-RAIDed drive in a hot-swap mounting, and pulled it out without dismounting the drive first, you'd get the same results as though you'd pulled the cable on an conventionally mounted drive.
If someone else has contrary info, please jump in.

Fred Wagner

Here is the recommended reading on the subject (very technical):

Understanding Hot Swap: Example of Hot-Swap Circuit Design Process

and for the layman:

Power electronics