Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Home Telephone Star Run wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

NEAXMAN

Technical User
May 21, 2014
US
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post here so I am just learning my ways around!! I am involved in the IT industry and am trying to learn more each and everyday. My topic today comes from one of my own personal projects. I live in a house (3 story including basement) and would like to have star run telephone connections. My home was built around 2000 (1998 to be exact) and has loop or daisy chain CAT3 wiring. The problem is that I would like to install a phone system in the basement where all of the wires come together on a punchdown block. Each jack as I said is connected to the next one. What would be the best way to get this kind of home star wiring? Ideally I would be able to rewire each jack and not have to complete new runs. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!

For consumer SLTs or TLTs daisy chaining jacks isn't a big deal. If you plan to switch to something a little more fancy, (NoKSUs or a keysystem/pbx), then you would be looking to run a dedicated cable to each jack.

For pure analog and/or digital phones, CAT3 cable is fine. However due to minimal price differential, others will suggest installing CAT5E cable and hardware in anticipation of converting to VoIP.

For how to go about this depends largely on how cables were installed during construction. Were the cables stapled to wood within the walls? If so, you may have to open the walls to pull new/additional cables.

I [love2] "FEATURE 00"