Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

hide IP address from network

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyreInc

Technical User
Sep 12, 2014
US
Hi all, not sure if this is the best spot for this post, please let me know! The solution does not need to be a Cisco product.

I'm a Controls Engineer for an industrial machinery OEM which has a machine that uses 2 IP addresses (PLC and HMI) to communicate. These come into an unmanaged switch which also connects these devices to the plant network. The customer wants to see only one IP on their network though.

Initially we thought a managed switch would do the trick, but it looks like even if communication is prevented the blocked IP will still be visible to the network. Speaking with a technical expert from one of our vendors pointed us to a Hirschmann EAGLE One, which will work, but has a lot of features we will not utilize, and is pretty expensive.

Are there any other options out there to hide an IP address from one device (the network) while allowing communication with another device? A router with IP filtering or DMZ was mentioned in another forum (Eng-Tips).

An industrial, DIN-rail mountable solution is preferred, but I'm open to all suggestions.

Thanks!

I don't understand your requirement - if the interface isn't needed, just shut it down.
If the interface *is* needed, then "hiding" the IP address will break whichever system uses it.

Maybe if you explain the desired traffic flows for each of the IP addresses as well as the undesired traffic flows, I might be able to get my tiny brain around what is required...

Vince,