Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

hi to all. I'm quite new to VBS, 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

teach314

Technical User
Jul 29, 2011
CA
hi to all.

I'm quite new to VBS, but I could use some help.

I have a table in an Access mdb like this...

Code:
X   Type
--------
11   234
14     7
22    98
23   118
36    47
etc...

I want to step through each X value then do an analysis based on the Type value. In VBA, I would just set up a recordset of X values, then step through it. But, each step involves a lot of work, so I am required to frequently do a Compact/Repair to keep the mdb's size < 2GB.

For this reason, I 'run' the Access code from VBS so that I can close the mdb file and do the compaction after every new X value.

If the X values were 1, 2, 3, 4..., I could just use a simple For-Next in the VBS code. Here's the question - what is a good way to feed the X values into the VBS code so that I can loop through them?

thanks for any clues
teach314

Hi,

Why not VBA, using ActiveX Data Object (ADO) rather than DAO? You’d have the same issues with VBS AFAIK.

So what would your process be, since, “each step involves a lot of work, so I am required to frequently do a Compact/Repair”?

Something I’ve done in the past, is to write a Function takes an argument like your x value, opens the db, performs a query to grab a value for the given x and close the db.

Then you can do your work. Just a thought.

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my OLD subtlety...
for a NUance![tongue][/sub]

hi Skip - you're last thought re a function that takes arg X to open the db, then perform a query sound great! Thanks

hi Skip - I'd like to follow up on your earlier response.