Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

hi, If I have a command in awk s

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpongeBob1

Programmer
Mar 1, 2002
US
hi,

If I have a command in awk such as;

awk '/error/ { print $7}' errorlog.log

This will give me a list of all the $7 variables in the line containing 'error', now what if I wish to use the $7 variable to test the file again ( errorlog.log ), using this $7 as the input value i.e.

awk '/$7/ { print $0 }' errorlog.log

I am hoping to get back all lines where $7 occurs - I need to do this operation in my script. Does anyone have any ideas on how to achieve this? I'm sure it is simple, but I am new to awk...

something like that:

pats=$(nawk '/error/ {printf $7 "|"} END {print}' errorlog.log | sed -e 's/|$//g')

#echo "pats->[${pats}]"

nawk -v pats=${pats} '$0 ~ pats' errorlog.log
vlad
+---------------------------+
|#include<disclaimer.h> |

#!/bin/sh
pat=$1
one=`awk -v p=$pat '/p/ {print $7}' errorlog.log`
test ! -z &quot;$one&quot; && awk -v p=$one '/p/ {print $0}' error.log
echo &quot;Return = $?&quot;

This is a quick hack, a pipe would also work.

marsd,
that doesn't work. Here's why:

> #!/bin/sh
> pat=$1
> one=`awk -v p=$pat '/p/ {print $7}' errorlog.log`
the &quot;/p/&quot; construct takes the pattern LITERALLY, meaning a string &quot;p&quot;. If you have a dynamic pattern/RE, you need to use the '$0 ~ p' construct.

Also, if the resulting variable 'one' contains MULTIPLE string [a pattern 'p' matched MULTIPLE lines producing multiple '$7'], how are you going to use that pattern later on?