Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hi, I am new to Mercator and i a

Status
Not open for further replies.

venkaiah

Programmer
Jul 8, 2003
US

Hi,
I am new to Mercator and i am learning. What
is better way to start?
[B\]

venkaiah,

I found the best way to start off programming with Mercator is to use there online library (provided with their software). Especially helpful is the Design Studio Introduction and the Design Studio Tutorial. You have a choice of printing them off and writing notes in them as you study them (a la ol' skool!) or reading them from your workstation via Adobe Acrobat. Good software for EDI and interfacing between systems, in my opinion.

Hands on experience, however, is the best way of learning. I wouldn't recommend any introductory classes, since I've been told they are given in a marathon-type fashion and you might find that they pretty much offer the same thing you would learn by reading on your own. Later on, you might consider a more-advanced class, since these are more stretched out and are done in an easier learning pace (again, only my opinion).

Good luck,
nelfel

Hi Nelfel,
Thank you for your advice. If you dont
mind could you explain me the flow of mercator from
the begin. Like what we do wit type tree designer?
how to compile? How to design map?
I will appreciate if u could send me some examples.

Thank you
Venkaiah

venkaiah,