Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hi all I am tasked to put up an

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunnywink

Technical User
Oct 6, 2002
FR
Hi all

I am tasked to put up an entire database on the intranet with multiple queries and report.

I am new to this topic. I understand that with the following commands, i can set up the database on the net where users can enter this ASP page to do editing:

<%
dim myconnection
set myconnection = Server.createobject(&quot;ADODB.connection&quot;)
myconnection.openProvider=Microsoft.Jet. OLEDB.3.51;&quot;_
&&quot;DataSource=Pathname of datasource&quot;
%>

I know as for query, we can set them using the SQL language.

Eg.

Set rsTitleList=myconnection.Execut(Select * from List)

But I am confused about how will the user be able to select a query to run? Do they go to the query view on the Access database as in normal database application, and double click to do query?

And how will the server recognise which query the user has selected? In addition, how can dynamic reports be set up to reflect the updated information?

Many thanks in advance.

it's not like running access. everything that you want your users to be able to has to programmed into asp pages.

for different queries you have to program them all, but there are ways, that you dont have to program them all individually.

for instance suppose your users want to select a subset of data. well since you know what fields are possible you can build sql queries dynamically.

e.g.
sqlstring = &quot;select * from table where &quot; & fieldname & &quot;=&quot; & input_value

so fieldname could be a dropdown list of possible fieldnames and input value would be what they typed into a textbox.