Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with Perl Tutorials 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesiba5

IS-IT--Management
Sep 19, 2003
ZA
I want to learn Perl and CGI but the problem is that I cannot find the best Tutorials I can use online Can someone help

I just learned PERL and I found this link to
be EXTREMELY useful. While it did not make me an expert, I was able to write a script that took form data, massaged it, then sent it off to a coupla email addresses.

Again, I will NEVER be a perl expert, but it really helped me get started.

Good Luck!

Thanks guys, I was about to ask the same question. I'm just getting into Perl and started reading O'Reilly's Learning Perl book, which IMO really blows. Its *extremely* boring and doesn't seem like its written for people with no programming experience. The one good thing about O'Reilly's book is that is seemed to cure my insomnia! I start reading it every day before I go to sleep and I'm sleeping like a baby after reading a page or two.

ChrisP
RHCE, LPIC-1, CCNA, CNE, MCSE, +10 others

Fluid,

If you want to read a book that is written for absolute programming beginners, but will actually teach you something useful in a relatively short period of time, I would recommend "Sams Teach Yourself Perl 5 in 21 Day". That was the book I started with and I really enjoyed it. I picked up "Learning Perl" afterwards. Although LP has helped me refine my skills, I can say for sure that I never would have learned anything about perl if it was my first book. Too advanced for a complete beginner.

Ditto on raklet's suggestion of "Sams Teach Yourself Perl 5 in 21 Days". I also found that book to be very effective as I learned the crude basics.