Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

help with ip nat/port forwarding /acces lists which one to use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wlanman

IS-IT--Management
Dec 25, 2002
US
Hi everyone, i am fairly new to working with routers, so please bare with me. Here is my situation: I have a cisco 2514 connected to my cable modem and i am getting my ip via dhcp on intE0 and running DHCP on intE1 which goes to my switch which will become my DMZ. I want to set up a DNS and web server on my DMZ. I also have port 3389 forwarding to my windows server which is the same server that is running the DNS and Web services. Now here are my questions:

1) Internally, my DNS service works fine, but how come when i use an nslookup out side of my network (lets say from my office) the request always times out? Did i configure the router correctly? Can someone tell me how to configure my router so that it will respond to dns requests? Does DNS respond back on a different port?

2)What are some good access-lists i should implement to lock down my router and hopefully keep wannabe hackers away? I tried to setup some access-lists, but everytime i do, all my internal clients cannot connect to the internet.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Here is a copy of my show run:

clock timezone EST -10
ip subnet-zero
ip name-server 24.25.227.34
ip name-server 24.25.227.35
ip name-server 24.25.227.36
ip name-server 24.25.227.37
no ip dhcp conflict logging
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.5
!
ip dhcp pool DHCP-POOL
network 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0
domain-name hawaii.rr.com
default-router 192.168.1.1
dns-server 24.25.227.34
!
ip dhcp pool DMZ-POOL
!
!
!
!
interface Ethernet0
description Connection to WAN