Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

help with filters

Status
Not open for further replies.

weather9

ISP
Oct 4, 2002
US
Hi,

If I wanted to build a filter that checks for an ascii string that could appear anywhere in the tcp payload, how would I do this? The current filter mechanism only permits matching to a specific location (offset) in the frame or am I overlooking something? Thanks.

Bill.

If you already have an example of the payload in a trace you could add a pattern by going into Data Pattern and then add a pattern and then setting the ASCII data from the hex.

Else I would not know at the moment, I'm not a filter expert.....

Hi, that would not work if the string can apear "anywhere" in the payload (assuming that with TCP payload you mean the TCP header and everything that follows in the frame).

The pattern match function uses an ofset that is static (from the beginning of the frame or the layer 3 header).

So for every offset in the payload you should make a data patern all connected with the OR function. Assuming your largest frame format is 1518 on Ethernet and the biggest part then is payload, you need a lot of paterns to do this.
Robert
Robert A.H. Wullems
Sniffer University Instructor
SCM / CNX / MCP
Citee Education
the Netherlands

I'm getting the impression that there is no practical way to do this, right? I ask because I've tried to figure this one myself for the past few years. 'Making things work better; bit by bit.'

No, i really don't think there is a practical way. Ofcourse everything is possible, read the message abvoe, but not very handy