Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with filtering SQL results in the report

Status
Not open for further replies.

andyd273

Programmer
Nov 2, 2005
US
I am really new to CR 9, and am still trying to learn everything that it can do.
I need a way to work with the results from a SQL query in VB6 to filter out unneeded results.

basically, VB6 compiles a list of customers depending on what we're looking for (anywhere from 1 to 8000 records can be returned) then it passes the customer id numbers to CR9 using the report.RecordSelectionFormula method.
what I need to do is at some point filter the record based on if the address' is mail to or ship to, and based on addresse position (whether they are are a web admin, parts manager, owner, etc.) and that is where the problems start. not all customers have web admins or parts managers, and so I either have records cut out of the report, or get all of the positions listed (like have the mail to and ship to for both the web admin and parts manager from the same company)

oh, and then I need to be able to export it to excel, so the different fields have to be seperate so that excel doesnt stick them together.

if anyone has any ideas on where to start, that would be great.

Crystal uses Report > Selectino Formulas > Record to filter out records, but only on the basis of something within that individual record.