Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with field conversion script

Status
Not open for further replies.

svarland

IS-IT--Management
May 16, 2002
US
I'm new to FMP scripting and working on cleaning up a rather large database. I need to create a script that searches for specific field value and then translates the data into values for several newly created fields. All are known values and text based fields. Basically something like this:

Find all records with Field1 = 'Green'
From those matches insert 'Blue' into Field2 and 'Yellow' into Field3

Is this easy to do with a FMP script?
Could you give me an idea as to the syntax or an example?

Thanks!
Scott

I don't know if this a script you are going to run all the time or just this one time to expand your old information - but here it goes ----

What you want to do first is perform the Find you want in the script -
-- Enter Find Mode, type Green in field1 and press Enter to perform the search

Now go to Scriptmaker and create a new script then clear out the default entries.

Your first line can be Goto Layout if you have certain layout you want to perform the finds from.

The next line should be Enter Find Mode.
-- Use the Restore option if the script is only going to be used for the one search. The Restore option will save and use the Find criteria you just entered.
-- Use the Pause option if you want to enter different criteria everytime you run the script. Pause will wait for you to press Enter after entering the information.

The next line would be Perform Find.
-- If you used the Restore option in the previous line you don't need it here.