Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with CentOS 4.4 please

Status
Not open for further replies.

brokenhalo

IS-IT--Management
Feb 24, 2008
US
Hey guys,
I have just been hired as a systems administrator for this company which provides web hosting amongst many other things... Here is where my problem lies...

I have no experience with linux AT ALL, and they are running their web servers, dns, email, ftp and everything from 3 CentOS 4.4 servers with no GUI, all command line.

So I am at home and tried installing it on my server here, and it doesn't recognize either of my hard drives... I tried searching through the list of devcices and neither of mine were listed.

My first hard drive (C:\) (Maxtor 6E030L0) has windows XP Pro and my second hd (samsung SV4002H) is partitioned in half, first half (D:\) has windows server 2003 Enterprise and the second half (E:\)is a basic unformatted partition. Ideally, I would like install CentOS on the E:\ drive, but I'm not sure if this is possible as I have not gotten that far in the installation yet. So Heres my questions...

1) Do I only need the drivers for my samsung HD or is there something I'm missing?
2) Is it even possible to install CentOS on the E:\ drive once I get that far? This whole Linux this is confusing me, and I'm usually hard to confuse. Any help would be appreciated

Brad L. - MCP

"If the doctors told me I had 5 minutes to live, I would type faster.