Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with ActiveXObject Microsoft.XMLHTTP

Status
Not open for further replies.

suddenzero

Programmer
Feb 1, 2010
US
Hello Everyone Smarter Than Me!

Before I get to the question first a little History on what I am working with. I am a Software Engineer currently working under a contract in a highly customized environment. The IDE that I am using (Not by my choice as I am a Java developer by Trade) uses a "JavaScript Runtime Environment" to treat JavaScript as a complied language. Needless to say this is a little odd and it was created because my employer had trouble finding enough developers that know other languages (This also seems odd) but there always seemed to be a ton of JavaScript people around.

Anyway now to the question. The code I am writing is product testing automation code that is going to save testing dollars eventually. Initially the testing was done by a team of testers whom would log into a website, run some tests by interacting with the website, and then get the results from the tests via the product that they are testing.

My code will do all the interaction with the device and the website and then compile all the results in an Ms. Excell spreadsheet for viewing. The problem is that my employer doesn't own the website that the testing is done from and there has been some changes lately that I am trying to overcome.

The problem is as follows.

I have been using a Microsoft.XMLHTTP ActiveX Object to login to the website and do all the test manipulation and form submitting. The recent changes to the website have broken the automation code. The original form that I was working with contained a submit button as follows