Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help to Elim Dups but keep required data

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppeel

Programmer
Dec 7, 2004
US
I'm new at Perl and am a little intimidated by some of the syntax. I'd really appreciated any help I can get.
I have a file with multiple lines that have the same "key" . The output can have only one line per "key", but the information from all lines with like keys have to be in that one output line.

Input:
key col2 col3
1111 aaaa
1111 aaaa
1111 aaaa ffff
2222 bbbb eeee
2222 bbbb
3333 cccc

Output should look like this:
1111 aaaa ffff
2222 bbbb eeee
3333 cccc

So I guess what I'm trying to do is eliminate duplicate keys, but make sure I output all the information available. The third column will either be blank or have something in it. If it has something in it it will always be the same for that key.
Anybody have any ideas on how to accomplish this in Perl?

#!/bin/perl

$line_num=0;

while(<DATA>) { # Read each line of data and consolidate duplicate keys
chop; # remove linefeed from $_

$record = $_;
@fields = split(/ /,$record);
$key = $fields[0]. " " . $fields[1]; # Key is assumed to be first two fields
$info = $fields[2];

$sort_order{++$line_num} = $key if $output{$key} eq ""; # Track the fist line number that the key is encountered at
$output{$key} = $record if length($record) > length($output{$key}); # Overwrite previous value
} # while(<DATA>) # if new value is longer

foreach (sort(keys(%sort_order))) { # Print results in hash, $output{}, in original order
$line_num = $_;
$key = $sort_order{$line_num};
print "$output{$key}\n";
} # foreach (sort(keys(%sort_order)))

__DATA__
1111 aaaa
1111 aaaa
1111 aaaa ffff
2222 bbbb eeee