Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help starmx 1000 doesn't boot.......Lost PC user

Status
Not open for further replies.

fenris

Programmer
May 20, 1999
CA
I am a complete newbie when it comes to macs. Heck I only saw my first mac when I started working here. Anyway, this mac is going home with one of the office workers (employee purchase). It is misbehaving quite a bit. The first problem was that it didn't power up. I solved this problem by pressing the little grey reset button inside the mac. It then had other problems. When the mac would finally boot into it's desktop, it would give an error about the main drive being broken or something like that and to run disk first aid on it. I searched through all the menus for it, but I could not find it. So I brought it back to the office to take a crack at it there. Well guess what, that mac is about six years old and all the software disks that came with it haven't been seen in five years. When I went to turn the mac after downloading a copy of disk first aid from apple, it won't start, it just sits there and flashes a floppy diskette icon on the screen with a ? in it. I assume that it can't find a drive to boot from. I am at a loss, I don't know who to procede. Is there a way to get disk first aid on a floppy and boot the machine from it.<br><br>What I don't understand is why the disk repair utility is not on the machine in the first place or is that just plain PC iggnorance? For my first experience with macs, I can say that I am not a convert..... <p>Troy Williams B.Eng.<br><a href=mailto:fenris@hotmail.com>fenris@hotmail.com</a><br><a href= > </a><br>