Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

help renaming a file using VBS/WSH

Status
Not open for further replies.

jguy

IS-IT--Management
Nov 17, 2000
US
I'm by no means a programmer, but I'm trying to automate a process using a combination of VBS and Batch files. First I execute a FTP batch file named simply ftp.bat that goes out to a mainframe and downloads several .DAT files. That works great. Next, I have a vbs script(zipit.vbs) that "calls for" another batch file (zip.bat) if a user chooses "yes" on a message box, else it basically stops. Here's the script code for the message box and "calling for" the zip.bat (zip.bat uses the command line add-on for Winzip)

zipit.vbs:

dim choice
Dim WSHShell
choice = msgbox ("Are You Sure That You Want To ZIP All Files With A .DAT Extention From The C:\DOWNLOAD Directory???",vbyesnocancel,"Watch Out!!!I'm Going To ZIP UP ALL .DAT Files!")

if choice = 6 then
Set WSHShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
' This will run the zip batch file on demand.
WSHShell.Run "zip.bat", 1, false
Set WSHShell = Nothing
WScript.Quit(0)
end if

if choice = 7 then
msgbox "Not Going To ZIP At This Time!!!!",vbcritical,"No ZIP!"
end if

if choice = 2 then
msgbox "Canceling ZIP Operation!!!!",vbcritical,"Cancel This Operation!!!!"
end if

O.k., with this in mind, here's the simple zip.bat

syntax:wzzip -yp -b z:\dayendstring *.dat
rename z:\dayendstring.zip "%DATE%".zip