Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help please server keeps on restarting

Status
Not open for further replies.

edgarv

MIS
Jul 25, 2003
US
Hello,

I am very new at this, I have a windows 2000 server that keeps restarting. right before it restars a small grey window appears with this information

Services.exe Terminated Unexcectedly with Status Code 128

I should mention that when the grew window with the message comes up it does a 60 second count down. when it gets to 0 it restarst the server, I ununplug it form the internet and it still does the same thing, cannot even log in the DOS screen. It seems to me like it is a virus.
how can I run a scan from my cd-room, the hard drives are SCSI.?
any suggestions

Thank you so very much
any help is greatfully apreciated

that is what I thought but I would have to have a connection to the internet in order for the virus to bring up the grey window and the server is not connected to anythong

Follow the steps to stop the shutdown, then check for the virus.

I'm Certifiable, not certified.
It just means my answers are from experience, not a book.

the problem is that I cannot even login in any mode (Safe, Normal or with Command Prompt) as soon as the login window comes up this other window shows up I tried to log in but the log in takes longer than 60 seconds so the server shuts down and re-stars

Just for giggles, can you disconnect any network connection and then try booting up?

If it works, then we know its the blaster
If it still doesnt work then we can move on and suggest other things

I tried it, the server is not plugged in to anything (network or other computers)

still the same thing. it comes up and restars the server