Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HELP!!! Passing unbound parameter to pass-through query

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krelian

MIS
May 30, 2001
US
I'm really new to SQL, and has a very basic question that need the experts help here.

I'm trying to pass a user input variable from a unbound input box in a form in MSAccess to run a pass-through
query running MS-SQL7. But it looks like there is no way to pass the variable. Below is the simple SQL code for the Pass-thourgh query:

SELECT ArchiveCDTable.ArchiveCDNo,
ArchiveCDTable.DirectoryAndFile
FROM ArchiveCDTable
WHERE ArchiveCDTable.DirectoryAndFile Like '%"&[ArchiveCDTable.DirectoryAndFile]&"%'
ORDER BY ArchiveCDTable.ArchiveCDNo, ArchiveCDTable.DirectoryAndFile

I have search the Internet and it appears that you can't run the Pass-through query this way since with Pass-through query, MSAccess will send this literal commands directly to the server and it will not understand the parameter calls. So what is the simple way to tackle this?

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

I tackle this by reconstructing the passthrough query in code.

Assuming your query is called qryPT...

private sub CommandButton_Click()

dim daoDB as dao.Database
dim daoQDF as dao.QueryDef
dim strSQL as String

set daoDB = CurrentDB()

strSQL = "SELECT Col1, Col2, Col3... " & _
"FROM YourTables " & _
"WHERE SomeColumn = '" & YourTextBox & "'"

set daoQDF = daoDB.QueryDefs("qryPT")
daoQDF.SQL = strSQL
daoDB.QueryDefs.Refresh

doCmd.OpenQuery "qryPT"

End Sub

I've posted this on the fly, so you'll need to tweak/debug.

Nealv,

First of all, thanks for your help.