Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help on how to upgrade ios on a 2501

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gimpo

Technical User
Jun 7, 2004
Hey guys, im a complete noob to all this so all your help would be very much appreciated.

Im trying to install a new ios on a 2501 router. I thought the xmodem command would work but I get a very polite 'what?' when i do this. Does it have to be TFTPed to the router or can it be installed through the console port (this would be the best option for me at the moment).

I have searched cisco's site, the web and this forum but with no luck.

Could someone possibly tell me or point me to a site/page which has step by step procedure for this.

Thank you in advance for your help

Kind regards
Andy

I hope you have IOS image on proper drive. ( Sorry please don not missunderstand but most experts do the small mistakes). I did try this
#xonfig t
config)#config-register 0x0
(config)#end
#reload

In rommon change the console baud to 115200 ( use confreg conmmand to do this)

reload again and in rommon change the

rommon2>xmodem -c {filename.bin}

Thank you for your response reliancetech. I given what you said a try but with no luck.

When i send the ctrl+break command the router goes into what i thought should be a rommon prompt but instead of getting rommon> i get >

I then type xmodem and i get back 'what?'

Should the 2501 router have the rommon> prompt and does it support the command xmodem?

Thank you again
Andy

Thanks again for your response.

Still no luck.

Have a look at this. This is what i get when i hit ctrl-break and then type the xmodem command.

System Bootstrap, Version 5.2(5), RELEASE SOFTWARE