Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help on counting Dates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shift838

IS-IT--Management
Jan 27, 2003
US
I am trying to count how many times a date appears out of a query I created.

My query has the follwoing tables
Date Opened
Date Closed
Type

I want to count how many times a date appears in the date opened and date closed. I beleive I have do another query to do this. But I am very new to access and have no clue what I am doing. I will eventually put the results in a report. Any help would be great..

Hi,

There are a couple of different ways that you can do this, depending on what type of result you are expecting.

If you wanted to know the different dates in the date Opened column (I assume you meant a column/field which is in a table), you could use the following query (I tend to use the SQL View rather than the design view)

select [Date Opened], count (*) as occurrences
from <table name>
group by [Date Opened]

this will give you a table like:

Date Opened occurrences
12/01/2003 5
13/01/2003 10
14/01/2003 1

If you meant both the date opened and date closed at the same time then you would use:

select [Date Opened], [Date Closed], count (*) as occurrences
from <table name>
group by [Date Opened], [Date Closed]

The same sort of output would be given:

Date Opened Date Closed occurrences
12/01/2003 13/01/2003 2
12/01/2003 14/01/2003 3
13/01/2003 13/01/2003 10
14/01/2003 15/01/2003 1

If you just wanted a basic count of how many records had a date in the Date Opened field then use:

select count(*) from <table name>
where [Date Opened] is not null

And again if you meant both at the same time then add an extra clause: