Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help needed with Apache Service Host Header using a DNS Alias

Status
Not open for further replies.

Void8Reaper

Programmer
Sep 4, 2008
GB
Hi All

I am pretty new to the whole ERS 4.0 and apache/tomcat services so hopefully I can explain what I am trying to do and get some guidance on how to do it.

Currently we have the ERS 4.0 running apache and tomcat services on our application servers we connect to the application via a url, example this works fine but we don't want to show the users the background server name so we have had a DNS alias created, example application.ent.com

I can ping the DNS alias but at this time it will not connect to the web app?

I beleive there are some additions to the httpd.conf file that I need to make, specifically to the host header, however scanning the internet for a solution has left me more confused than before with NameVirtualHost, VirtualHost etc

If someone can offer me some guidance in what I need to do for the DNS Alias to be recognised by the server/services I would greatly appreciate it.

If further information of the services we are running are required let me know on this forum and I will submit that information as soon as I can.

Thanks
John

If I understand your post correctly, you want to have a web resource located at //servername/location/login.htm, but don't want servername to be part of the URL?

Depending on your exact implementation and requirements, there are three tools / options that I can think of that would be of value to you.