Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help needed for a newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

penduko

Technical User
Sep 10, 2002
PH
Hi,

Im a newbie with regards to Cisco, I have 2 Cisco 1700 series right now and want to do the following:

1. Connect the two cisco routers via serial interface.
2. We plan to use Private IP addresses for both routers.

With regards to the above information, I just want to ask the following:

1. Is the above setup possible? if so, where can I get a sample config for both routers.

2. If we want to extend the routers, say 1 will be housed in my place and the other 1 is in my friend's place, can we apply for a local loop from a telco provider from my place to my friend's? Can we apply for AMI/D4 channelized local loop? Can we use the existing setup we used when we configure the routers to communicate via its serial interface?

thanks and more power.

Thats exactly what you need to do.. Contact your Telco to see what they have to offer in relation to what you can afford.

Connecting the routers by serial connection would mean that you would need a dedicate lease line (eg T1 or frame relay)or whatever other service is available from your Telco.

It all depends on what you can afford.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, what about the configuration of the 1700s? Where can I get a sample config for the two routers to make them communicate?

Thanks

It's quiet simple:

On Router1

interface Serial0/1
bandwidth 2048
ip address 10.10.83.1 255.255.255.0
bandwidth 2048

On Router2

interface Serial0/1
bandwidth 2048
ip address 10.10.83.2 255.255.255.0
bandwidth 2048