Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HELP! Insert into results in Run-time error 3155

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev

Programmer
Jan 10, 1999
US
First, let me apologize in advance for posting a question which probably doesn't have enough information, but I'm hoping somebody can just help point me in the right direction.

In VBA in Access, I dynamically build an "INSERT INTO ..." statement. My program runs through hundreds of records, inserting them happily, and then throws up a Run-time error 3155 (ODBC Timeout).

I'm actually a newbie in terms of knowing how to debug my code. I've wracked my brain. I've displayed a msgbox that shows the "INSERT INTO ..." statement and I can't see any obvious difference between the ones that work and the ones that don't.

You folks are generally so very, very helpful that I'm hoping maybe you could point me in the right direction to try to solve this (like pointers in using the built-in debugging tools).

Thanks,
Bev

Bev

A quick summary of how to use the debugging tools:

1. Go into the VB editor
2. Find the line that you want to stop your code at, and click the grey line next to the code you want it to stop at.
If it is done correctly, you will get a red dot in the left margin and the line of code will turn white on a red background.

3. Run your code in the normal way. When your program gets to the stage where the line will be executed, the VB editor will come up with that line highlighted on a yellow background.
You can then:
* View the contents of variables by hovering the mouse over it.
* dynamically change variable contents by putting assignment statements in the immediate window
(eg strVariable = "hello")