Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help! I'm a student with a cd-rom problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

efrain

Programmer
May 17, 1999
US
I am working on an HP Pavillion PC that won't read the cd-rom drive.  The drive letter (D:) shows up in Windows Explorer, but when I click on it to access it it pops up a message that the drive cannot be accessed.  In DOS I get a not reading drive d: abort,retry,fail message.  I've tried removing the driver and having windows use PnP to set it up for me and that didn't work.  I opened up config.sys to see where the driver was supposed to be and the path is correct.  Any ideas?  Could it be the physical drive and not a software related issue?  The eject button works just fine so I know it's getting power.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Check the ide cable is correctly attached to the CD Rom and to the motherboard. Is it working as a Slave (ie on the same cable as the master hard drive ) check the jumpering on the CD rom drive is set to slave or master if on its own ide cable plugged into the second ide port  . Bios settings - if you can get into the bios check what the IDE drive is setup for (Secondary master = Auto ) or (primary Slave = Auto)

I just thought of something else ! check the other devices in windows to see if there is an extra cd rom drive setup

does it show up in the device manager?  If so remove it and follow bdux instructions for the bios.