Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help Desk database 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rustaferd

Technical User
Dec 16, 2003
US
I am a beginner with Access. The best way to learn is to find a project and work through the process. I did this with a Help Desk database I created.

Now I am working on redoing the access database I created on the fly for the Tech Support logs. I've got a spreadsheet that I have the breakdown of all the tables I think I will need. I have a spreadsheet breaking down the forms as well.

I could use some help later in making sure I am linking or joining the tables appropriately. But before I get ahead of myself there are a couple of questions that have come up that I should get answered before moving forward.

I have created a table called RootCause.
I have also created a table called CallResolution.

What I would like to do whenever I open a new issue I have to assign a root cause to the issue from the dropdown menu (linked to RootCause table). When I select this root cause, I want a list (history) of all the resolutions made for this root cause.

I don't know if this is clear but I am not sure of the best way to do this. Do I need to link the RootCauseName of the RootCause table or the RootCauseID of that table to the CallResolutions table so that whichever root cause is selected for the issue, a list of call resolutions linked to the RootCause table will be listed. From that list I can choose which Call Resolution fits the call issue and select that for my call record - or I can simply add to the Call Resolution.