Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Having trouble getting work, have 5K for cert, but which one?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kxramse

Programmer
Jul 28, 2006
US
Hey everyone,

I have a story I'd like to share with the aim of getting some career/certification advice. I'd appreciate as much input as any one is willing to give.

I got my CIS degree in 1995 from a State University Business school. I worked as a COBOL programmer for 3 years (1 company), then as a Systems Analyst for 4 years (2 companies) where my programming was minimal, I was watching over vendor applications, writing reports, sometimes an interface or two, etc.

Then I did something that might not make sense to everyone, but its here nor there. At this point in my career, 2001, I was making 70K. I went to Seminary for 3 years and earned a personal enrichment degree. Ok... So, I tried to get back into IT, and I had to take a HUGE pay cut, down to 42K in January of 2004, and was basically a Systems Analyst again but it was entry level, watching over a vendor application, writing reports in SQL/Crystal and creating some very basic ASP.NET/VB.NET, Javascript forms to do some basic HTML e-mail data entry stuff. Not very advanced, I taught myself and I'd never pass an interview with what I learned about .NET.