Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

hardware diagnostics 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimdevon

IS-IT--Management
Oct 14, 2002
US
Help, I am a network and database consultant. Problem is that some of my clients are small, so I have to be everything. Hardware troubleshooting is my weak suit, and I normally tell my clients that they would be better off buying new equipment rather than paying me to fix older systems. I would rather, however be able to quickly troubleshoot problems and fix them. I am in contact with Micro 2000 about their system ($900,ouch!), but if it is the best, I am game. Please send recommendations. Thanks in advance. Jim

The Micro2000 POST card is good for those computers that get power to the motherboard but won't boot up. I've used it for several years in conjunction with the Micro2000 Diagnostic floppy for those computers that can boot to the floppy.

I have seen other POST cards advertised at cheaper prices but haven't checked them out.

I have the floppy and it's worth it's weight in gold. It checks everything so long as it can boot to the floppy. No doubt it is expensive but I use it a lot. It's not something I would lend to a customer I don't think you can copy it. The floppy was 200.00 and that was 4 years ago.
I hope that helps? I work on fixing the computers your not supposed to tell them to buy a new computer your supposed to send them to me! he he he
I do agree 900 is a lot.
Cindy

[2thumbsup]