Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hard Drive Failure 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

emileeaw

Technical User
Oct 1, 2008
US
My SATA hard drive failed last week in my fairly new Dell Inspiron 1720. I called Dell, they sent a new hard drive, and I installed it on Friday. I just realized that there are some files that I forgot to copy from my old hard drive before I send it back to Dell. My question is: can I re-install my old hard drive in the available slot and find and save my files without jeopardizing the new hard drive or anything on my computer? And will it be a lengthy project or can I do it quickly? I'm not experienced with all of this so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

I am slightly confused by your description.You say your drive has failed but you mention that you forgot to take off all the files which implies you have managed to save some of them?
I guess what I am trying to say is if the drive was able to have some files saved then you should be able to connect this old drive on one of the lower SATA drive connectors (2,3,4 etc) and as long as your new drive is set as boot, Windows should detect and make the old drive excessable.
Martin

On wings like angels whispers sweet
my heart it feels a broken beat
Touched soul and hurt lay wounded deep
Brown eyes are lost afar and sleep

Give us a better description of "My SATA hard drive failed last week". Boot failure? Won't load Windows? Not recognised in BIOS? Doesn't spin up? Went off bang!? Puff of blue smoke? Etc., etc...

ROGER - G0AOZ.