Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HARD CODING VS DRAG AND DROP?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexfusion

Programmer
Feb 5, 2001
AR
Hello Everyone,
I would like to know the opinion about this question:
Me,just like many of you, spend many hours coding our scripts using our favorite program,a lot of time reading about how stuff works,and that is a very hard, task as you know.As a programmer I like that a lot.But with the quick development of the web,we can see programs that let you just drag and drop a component,such as the new Flash Comunication Server,and you have a chat room,etc.
I mean,all the effort we put in programmming web applications is futile in front of this software?
With OOP we have a lot of time and and effort saving,and that's great.Will the hard coders be a vanishing race?
Let me know what you think about it.

Kindest Regards

Alex

After using various DnD apps to create webpages I've finally found myself most comfortable with Textpad.

I guess I'm happy enough with my abilities, I don't actually find "hard coding" hard. :) ______________________________________________________________________
There's no present like the time, they say. - Henry's Cat.

I'm with KarveR, except for me it's UltraEdit. I gotta have those line-numbers, man.

The strength of drag-and-drop-interface programming is that someone with no experience can create a program quickly.