Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

handwriting recognition in vfp

Status
Not open for further replies.

markftwain

Technical User
Jul 12, 2006
Hi experts,

I am moving my vfp 9 input from keyboard to handwriting under windows 7 with a wacom pen/pad.

The microsoft inked.inkedit.1 activeX control does a very good job, but seems to lack the rightclick event.

Are there better options available for embedded handwriting recognition for vfp? (or how can I add the rightclick event to the activeX control?) Should I use an inkoverlay on top of an editbox?

I am extremely new to handwriting recognition, so any help is much appreciated.

Have you tried a Google search for: handwriting vfp ?

I just ran the search and came up with a number of 'hits', some of which look possibly useful.

Good Luck,
JRB-Bldr

yes.

The best came from Microsoft a number of years ago. None specifically addressed rightclick with inkedit or inkoverlay.

Thanks,
Mark

I haven't worked with this control, but does it have anything similar to MouseDown and MouseUp events? If so, it probably has a way to determine which mouse button was pressed/released

Craig Berntson
MCSD, Visual C# MVP,

Yes.

MouseDown will detect rightclick with a button value of 2.

Thanks, Mark

I think rightclick support is quite useless for a touchscreen application. As long as you don't have a pen with a right click button, there is no such thing as detecting right vs left hand touching ;).

Right click in a touchscreen application is something I would consider to avoid.

Just a side note: