Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Guestbook/Discussion forum problems 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

AVDude

Technical User
Jul 1, 2002
SE
Hi

I have a discussion forum running on a W2K IIS using VB and access as a database.
I have no knowledge in .asp/VB.

All of sudden when I changed the location of the guestbook files they stoped working.

I have made all the connections in IIS to the access database but with no luck.

Any helpful soul out there that might find the time to check the files out and help me get the discussion fourm back on line?

They guy that made the forum for me don't reply to mail...

I'm lost.

Cheers
AVDude

If you post the problem/error you are getting we should be able to get to the bottom of your troubles.

Thanks,

Gabe

may i know exactly what error(s) your app produces when you run it? i need to know this because though your IIS connects to the database, your code may cannot see it. also, can i have the part of your code where you access the database.

:)

Is there an error? That would help pin-point the problem. But most likely your database string is wrong.. which is something like this..

ConnString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; Data Source=" & Server.MapPath("folder/database.mdb")

you most likley will have have to change the "folder/" part to where you moved it. Also if there are includes in the script those would have to be changed as well.

jason@vzio.com
s_vzio.gif

Thanks guys

I have a conn.asp where I have changed the string.

The funny thing about it all is that I had 2 copies of them running. I changed the location of one and it died.
I then made a exact copy of the working one and changed the conn.asp but with no result.