Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

group calendar questions 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

twoody54

IS-IT--Management
Apr 11, 2002
US
Hi everyone, I'm a novice with Notes so I'm probably just missing it. Is it possible to set-up a calendar that everyone has access to for viewing people's vacation schedules. Since everyon'e calendar is tied into their mail file I'm not sure about how to go about setting up a calendar that everyone can access that has this info on it. I can think of a way to do a work around with Resource Scheduling but that isn't the best way to do it. Any help would be great.

Thanks
Tom

We have a setup similar to what you are describing. We created an email account called "IT Calendar". Added the appropriate people to the Access Control List, and added an icon for the Calendar to their Workspace. When first opened, the users may see the mailbox...all they need to do is switch to the calendar, and provided that "restore as last viewed by user" is selected on the LAUNCH Tab of the DB properties box, the next time they open the DB, the calendar will be what they see. It has been working great for us for over a year. Good Luck!

Where do you go about adding people to the Access Control List? I am in the Lotus Administrator and right click on the created database and chose access control, then manage and nothing comes up. I've it done this in the past with Resource Reservation databases. Thank for the advice!