Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Gridview Change font color in cell depending on value

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barneye

MIS
Mar 5, 2002
US
Hello!

I have a gridview with phone call statitics for my sales dept. The 6th column is "TotalCalls". I need to change the font color to red if the number of total calls is less than 40 or to green if it is 40 or higher.

I am new to ASP.net, so the simplest explanation will be appreciated.

Thanks!

this is one example that i found online, modify it to your requirements...

Code:
Protected Sub GridView1_RowCreated(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Web.UI.WebControls.GridViewRowEventArgs)

If e.Row.RowType = DataControlRowType.DataRow Then
   Dim lbl As Label = CType(e.Row.FindControl("lblPreis"), Label)
   If DataBinder.Eval(e.Row.DataItem, "unitprice") < 0D Then
      lbl.ForeColor = Drawing.Color.Red   End If

End If
End Sub

-DNG

You need to use the RowDataBound event of the gridview:
Code:
Protected Sub GridView1_RowDataBound(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Web.UI.WebControls.GridViewRowEventArgs) Handles GridView1.RowDataBound
If e.Row.RowType = DataControlRowType.DataRow Then
   If CType(e.Row.Cells(1).Text, Integer) < 40 Then
      e.Row.Cells(1).ForeColor = Drawing.Color.Red
    Else
       e.Row.Cells(1).ForeColor = Drawing.Color.Green
   End If
End If
Let me know if you need further explination,

Jim

End Sub
[/code]

Jim,

Right on target!

If you have time, a short explination of the code would be helpfull so I understand it for the future.

Thanks!

The RowDataBound event as each row binds to the datasource. So, this is a good place to check data and do anything that is dependent on it