Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Greyscale to Pantone

Status
Not open for further replies.

makudo

Technical User
Jun 27, 2006
AU
I have a grayscale vector image in illustrator that I need to convert to a monotone image (specifically Pantone 662 C). So that black is pantone 662 C and white is white, and grey is in between the two... Cant seem to figure it out. Any ideas?

-Tim

there is a way to go from color to grayscale easily;
'filters' > 'color' > 'convert to grayscale' but you'd have to be starting from the PMS color you want.

(DISCLAIMER: Self-taught AI user; unorthodox methods w/good results)
'There is no LEASH LAW for the IMAGINATION!'
myspace.com/erixworx

Can you add the Pantone to your swatches pallette, double click to get its cmyk values and then double click your black swatch, change it to spot with the Pantone values, rename it Pantone 662 and check the global box?

That should make everything black turn to P662.

Using OSX 10.3.9 on a G4 & G5

you can make it a montone - dutone ( i know that sounds funny but go to the duotone option and you can make it anything from a monotone to a quadtone) in photoshop and assign it the pantone # . . . but its better to work with than image in a page layout program like indesign which is optimized to work with both raster images, vector images and typesetting with greater ease and control than illustrator give you

The person who says it cannot be done
should not interrupt the person doing it. . . .

Thanks dabob, jmlgalvin and erixworx. Unfortunately I still have the same problem. . :(