Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Granting cube access to a Windows group

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shairal

Technical User
Oct 13, 2005
US
I am very new to SQL BI – so please bear with me … I am trying to give a Windows group access to a cube I created in SSAS.

I created a role in BIDS for my SSAS project, but could not find where I give the Windows group access to my cube. Thinking I created the role in the wrong place, I went to Management Studio and connected to my Analysis Server. I again created a role that I wanted to assign my Windows group to … but again, I don’t see how I can assign the Windows group access to the cube. Oddly enough, I cannot see the role I created in BIDS in Management Studio, or vice versa.

So, I have two questions: 1 – How do I give a Windows group permissions to connect to my cube (via Excel); and 2 – why does the role I created in BIDS not show up in Management Studio under my Analysis Server; they seem totally independent of one another. I assumed any role created in BIDS would inherently show up in Management Studio (sorry - I really am a newbie!).

Thanks in advance for your assistance! ... oh, I'm using SQL ’08.

create your role in BIDS then open this role in BIDS and you will be able to edit the various pieces of the role including members.

Paul
---------------------------------------
Shoot Me! Shoot Me NOW!!!
- Daffy Duck