Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Got my A+, Net+ which way should I go next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

comptek

Technical User
Nov 8, 2002
US
Hey everyone,

I got my A+ and Net+, now I dont know where to go next. I am a pc tech right now, I also have my BS in CIS. The BS is what it is. I would like some opinions from you guys out there on what direction/ cert I should go after next.

As a tech I have knowledge of MS products: professional and server, Novell products: Netware and soon Zenworks. Dont know much about our router and switches other than when they are down I should reboot them before I call for support. For now and maybe for the next 5 years I would like to stay in support because the economy for IT is very dry. Where should I gear my education too. I have access to MCSE things, but people on this website are saying ccna? Isnt ccna a little like N+? The only cisco product we have is our firewall. I was thinking about novell certs but we are planning on getting out of netware and go to Zenworks, so should I go for novell?

After 5 years I was maybe considering Network technician, or Engineer. What do network tech's do that differ from pc techs? Because I basically take care of end user issues and just monitor the network in that when something goes down I should be trying to do things try to bring it up before I call support. I was thinking about specializing in Hardware support but I am not sure where to look for that. I know that if I want more money I have to get out of the pc/tech area and go into engineering or some kind of net admin right?