Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Getting Started for an Advanced User

Status
Not open for further replies.

layco

Technical User
Jan 4, 2002
US
I am an Oracle DBA with several years experience. I am using PowerDesigner to develop a conceptual model for a database I've reverse engineered. I find some of the terms confusing and of course, because I'm working backwards(-:, I am stumbling around a bit. One question I've got is what tables have foreign keys referencing the table I'm looking at?

Does anyone know of a good book on database design that uses the same terms that PowerDesigner uses? I learned my licks through Oracle training and I'm having to broaden my perspective a bit!:cool:

First of all, if you are a DBA, why do you want to use the Conceptual Data Model (*.cdm) instead of the Physical Data Model. If all you are interested in is documenting relationships with the "crows feet" notation, you can do that in the Physical Data Model by adjusting the "display preferences" for the "reference" object.

Secondly, if you decide to use the Conceptual Data Model, foreign key references are assumed within the "relation" symbol and not displayed on the diagram. In other words, there are no such thing as "foreign key attributes" and "foreign key columns" are created when the Physical Data Model is generated. (If you want to see Foreign Key Columns, use the Physical Data Model).